Track Changes

Track changes

How to

Enable/Disable track changes

View the changes as they are made by your collaborators using track changes. While collaborating on an online document, the owner of the document can enable the track changes mode, which then tracks all the insertions, deletions, and changes made by the collaborators distinctively in the document. Later, the changes can be either accepted or deleted by the owner of the document from the review tab. All collaborators with read-write and read-comment access can switch on track changes in the document.

To enable track changes,

  1. Click the Review button and switch to review mode in your document.
    Alternatively, click on the track changes button at the bottom right if your editor to instantly enable the track changes mode.
  2. Turn ON the switch next to Track Changes. Now any edits made by the collaborator can be tracked and viewed in the review pane.

Markup Mode

Once your document is sent for collaboration and the edits are made, the three different markup views can help you to get an idea of how the final document will look like, both with and without the edits. The idea here is to give you a distraction-free view of the document from the highlighted edits. The markup modes are placed right next to Track Changes. Click the All Markup drop-down to select an alternate view for your document. You can view the content with all the edits (All-Markup) or view it with all the changes accepted in the No Markup mode. You can also view the original document before the edits were made.

  1. All Markup - To view the document with the edits highlighted.
  2. No Markup - To see how the final document will look like if the edits were accepted. The edits/tracked-changes are only temporarily hidden and will be shown next time the document is opened or when the mode is changed to All Markup.
  3. Original - To see how the final document looks by temporarily hiding the tracked-changes.

Note:

  • The Markup mode is only to get a bird's-eye view of the document. To delete the tracked-changes permanently, you need to either Accept/Reject them.
  • When you choose to publish your document within the organization or on the web after accepting/rejecting the changes, the published page will display the document in original mode (You cannot view the published content with all markup or without markups). Click here to know more about document publishing.

Insert text with track changes

To insert text with track changes,

  1. Open the document and click on the Review button to open the document in review mode.
  2. Now insert the required text with Track Changes on.
  3. The inserted text will be highlighted with a custom color and marked with an underline. The changes made by collaborators will be indicated with different colors in the All Markup mode.

Delete text with track changes

To delete text with track changes,

  1. Open the document and click on the Review button to open the document in Review mode.
  2. Select the text you want to delete.
  3. Press the Delete key on your keyboard. The deleted text will appear with a strike through in the All Markup mode.

Replace text with track changes

To delete text with track changes,

  1. Open the document and click on the Review button to open the document in Review mode.
  2. Select the text you want to replace in your document.
  3. Type or paste the replacement text.
  4. The original text (deleted text) will appear with a strikethrough and the replaced text (inserted text) will appear with an underline in the All Markup mode.

Accept/Reject changes

Track changes will mark all the edits made in the document. You can make these edits permanent by selectively accepting or rejecting these changes. Also, review the document overall, choose to accept/reject changes collectively and remove markups in one click.

To accept/reject changes individually,

  1. Open the document and go to Review mode.
  2. Click on the text where the edits are made.
  3. Click the Accept/Reject button from the pop-up.

To accept/reject all the changes,

  1. Open the document and go to Review mode.
  2. Click the More icon on the right panel in the Review mode.
  3. Choose the Accept all changes/Reject all changes based on your requirements. This will remove all markups and changes are made permanent.

Track changes with the color of your choice

Let's say your team is collaborating on a document, and you are required to make a lot of additions and deletions. At some point, you will find it difficult to remember what changes you or your collaborators have made.

Therefore, to easily distinguish the changes made by each of you, Writer enables you to make changes in your favorite color.

 

To pick a color,

  1. Navigate to Review
  2. Turn on track changes and make sure 'All Markup' is enabled.
  3. Click in the collaboration ribbon to choose a color of your choice.
  4. Check this box to make it your default color for all the documents.

Share this post : FacebookTwitter

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Write to us: support@zohowriter.com