Define Business Rules and Workflow for Bugs

Business Rules and Workflow for bugs

Business Rules allows you to organize the bugs more efficiently by setting criteria that match your project requirement. Business Rules are applied to bugs based on the rule list order, when there are multiple business rules. You can add, edit and deactivate a business rule.

Status & Workflow allows you to assign status for the bugs, set default status and define the transition status for the bugs filed in the selected project. The next available status of the bugs can be reordered as desired.

Add a business rule

You can add as many business rules as desired for bugs.

To add a business rule:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed bug options.
  4. Click Business Rules and then click Add Rule.
  5. In Basic Information tab, specify Rule Name and Description.
    basic-tab
  6. Click Next.
  7. In Execute On tab, indicate the desired option for the rule to be executed.
    execute-tab
  8. Click Next.
  9. In Rule Criteria tab, set the criteria as to when the rule must be executed for the bugs.
    rule-tab
  10. Click Next.
    •  You can delete any criteria, if required. Hover over the criteria and click the delete icon to delete.
  11.  In Action tab, set the action that must be executed for the bugs.
    actions-tab
  12.  Click Save Rule to save the business rule.

Note:

  • You can also use Custom Fields to set business rules criteria.
    custom-businessrule

Edit a business rule

If required, you can modify the business rule criteria.

To edit a business rule:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed the bug options.
  4. Click Business Rules and then click Edit.
    modify-businessrule
  5. Modify the business rule criteria as required.
  6. Click Save Rule to save the changes.

Reorder business rules

You can reorder the business rules as desired.

To reorder business rules:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed the bug options.
  4. Click Business Rules and then click Reorder Business rule.
    reorder-businessrules
  5. Drag and drop the business rules as desired.
    drag-businessrules
  6. Click Save Rule Order to save the new business rule order.

Deactivate business rule

You can temporarily refrain from executing a business rule instead of deleting. And later you can activate the business rule, if required.

To deactivate a business rule:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed the bug options.
  4. Click Business Rules and then click Deactivate.
  5. A warning message about deactivating the business rule is displayed.
    warning-deactivate
  6. Click OK to deactivate the business rule.

Status and Workflow for bugs

Add a new status

You can create a new status and workflow for the bugs based on your project preference.

To add a new status:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed bug options.
    bug-settings
  4. Click Status & Workflow.
  5. Click Add Status.
    add-status
  6. In Status Name, specify a status name for the bugs.
  7. In Status Type, indicate the default status type for the bugs.
  8. In Workflow, select the desired next available bug statuses .
  9. Click Add to add the bug status.

Modify a status

You can modify the bug status details, if required.

To modify a status:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed bug options.
    bug-settings
  4. Click Status & Workflow.
  5. Click Edit.
    edit-status
  6. Modify the status details as required.
  7. Click Update to updated the changes.

Reorder status

You can reorder the bug status as desired.

To reorder the status:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed bug options.
    bug-settings
  4. Click Status & Workflow.
  5. Click Reorder status.
    reorder-status
  6. Drag and drop the status as required.
  7. Click Save Order to save the new status order.

Note: Links to other pages within Bug Settings such as Import Bugs, Client Permissions and so on are available on the right side of the page.

Delete status

You can delete any status workflow of bugs, if required. However, you must move the bugs to any other status as desired before deleting a status.

To delete a status:

  1. In HOME, click Projects.
  2. In Projects list view, select the desired project.
  3. Hover the mouse pointer over Bugs and click Bug Settings from the displayed bug options.
    bug-settings
  4. Click Status & Workflow.
  5. Click Delete.
      • A prompt message to move the total number of bugs from the current status to any other available status is displayed.
    delete-prompt
  6. Select the desired status to move the bugs before deleting.
  7. Click Update to update the status change for the bugs.
  8. A warning message for deleting the status is displayed.
    delete-status
  9. Click OK to delete the status workflow.

Top