CRM Help

Sharing Records

Collaboration is essential in a sales team. How we interact with the other members of the team, how we share information and ideas with them and the most important of all is how we share sales data that we work with. Zoho CRM provides different levels of data sharing, one being the record-level sharing where users can share accounts, contacts and potentials with other users in the organization. The record-level sharing is just an extension to the already existing sharing rule applied to a record.

You can share individual records or select bulk records from the list view and share. There are two ways to share records:

  • Share a record with users and provide the same set of access permission for all the users.
  • Share a record with users and provide different access permissions to each user.

Availability

Profile Permission Required: Users with the Record Level Sharing permission in the profile.

Share Records

Record-level sharing is applicable only for accounts, contacts and potentials. You need to have the record-level sharing (Share) permission enabled in your profile to share the record.

The records can be shared with other active and confirmed users in your organization who are your subordinates in the role hierarchy. For the users to access the shared records, they need to have the permission to access the corresponding module in their profile.

To share accounts

  1. Click the Accounts tab.
  2. From the list of records, select a record that you want to share.
  3. In the Record Details page, click More Actions > Share.
    Alternatively, you can also select multiple records from the list view and click More Actions > Share.
  4. In the Accounts - Share pop-up, do the following:
    • Share to - Select the users to whom you want to share the record.
    • Account(s) - Choose access permission as Read Only or Read & Write.
    • Related Contact(s) - Choose access permission as Do Nothing, Read Only or Read & Write for the contacts associated to the account.
    • Related Potential(s) - Choose access permission as Do Nothing, Read Only or Read & Write for the potentials associated to the account.
    • Click the Add icon to add more users and define sharing permissions.
  5. Click Save.

To share contacts

  1. Click the Contacts tab.
  2. From the list of records, select a record that you want to share.
  3. In the Record Details page, click More Actions > Share.
    Alternatively, you can also select multiple records from the list view and click More Actions > Share.
  4. In the Contacts - Share pop-up, do the following:
    • Share to - Select the users to whom you want to share the record.
    • Contact(s) - Choose access permission as Read Only or Read & Write.
    • Related Potential(s) - Choose access permission as Do Nothing, Read Only or Read & Write for the potentials associated to the account.
    • Click the Add icon to add more users and define sharing permissions.
  5. Click Save.

To share potentials

  1. Click the Potentials tab.
  2. From the list of records, select a record that you want to share.
  3. In the Record Details page, click More Actions > Share.
    Alternatively, you can also select multiple records from the list view and click More Actions > Share.
  4. In the Potentials - Share pop-up, do the following:
    • Share to - Select the users to whom you want to share the record.
    • Potential(s) - Choose access permission as Read Only or Read & Write.
    • Click the Add icon to add more users and define sharing permissions.
  5. Click Save.

Note

  • Only if a module's default organization permission is Private/Public Read, the record-level sharing feature can be used. Also, the user must have the Share permission enabled in their profiles in order to share records with other users.
  • A record can be shared with users who do not already have access to it.
  • A record (Account/Contact/Potential) can be shared to a maximum of 10 users.
  • Record owners or users on a higher role who have access to the record can share their records with other users.
  • When a record (account, contact or potential) is shared with another user, the associated activities, emails, notes, and attachments will be available to that user only if he/she has the required permissions and data sharing rules to access the same.
  • Users with whom a record is shared cannot change the ownership of the record.
    However if records are overwritten upon import, there is a chance for record ownership to change.
    Even in such a case, record level sharing will not be revoked. The record will remain accessible to the users it was shared with.
  • Users cannot delete a record that is shared with them.
  • In cases of conflict between data sharing rules, territory rules and record level sharing, record level sharing does not limit permissions already provided to the record; rather it only extends it.
    For example, refer to the following table to see what happens to a record when it has conflicting data sharing and record level sharing rules.
    Based on Data Sharing Rules  Based on Record Sharing  Final Access for the Record
    Read Only Access Read Write Access Read Write Access
    Read Write Access Read Only Access Read Write Access
  • For easy access to the records shared by you and those shared to you, two list views will be added - [Records] Shared to Me and [Records] Shared by Me.

Revoke Sharing

If you have shared a record to users there is also an option to revoke complete sharing if needed. On revoking, the access permissions given using record-level sharing feature will be removed.

To revoke record-level sharing

  1. Click the Accounts/Contacts/Potentials tab.
  2. From the list of records, select a record that is shared with users.
  3. In the Record Details page, click More Actions > Share.
  4. In the [Record] - Share pop-up, click Revoke Sharing.

Enable Permission to Share Records

Administrators can always share records with others. For other profile users, the administrator can enable the permission in their profile.

To enable permission to share records

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Profiles.
  2. Select a profile to which you want to enable the permission.
  3. Select the Share checkbox for the respective modules (Accounts, Contacts, Potentials).
  4. Click Save.

Top

Spread the Word

© 2016, ZOHO Corp. | Support: +1 888-900-9646 | Sales: +1 877 834 4428,