Transfer ownership of secrets; Forcefully acquire secrets

In instances where users leave the organization, Zoho Vault offers a provision for securely transferring secrets to other users and administrators.

There are two ways to transfer ownership of secrets:

  1. Users voluntarily transferring the secrets owned by them to any other user or administrator
  2. Super-admin forcefully acquiring 'Enterprise' type secrets

Transferring Ownership

When you create a new secret, you automatically become the owner of the secret. Transfer of ownership can be done by the owner - any user, administrator or super-admin as long as they are owners of the secret. Before transferring ownership of secrets, sharing has to be initiated on both sides.

To transfer ownership -

  1. Go to 'Secrets', click on 'All Secrets' tab.
  2. Select the secrets whose ownership is to be transferred.
  3. Click 'More Actions'. Select 'Transfer Ownership' from the drop-down.
  4. Select the user you want to transfer ownership to from the drop-down. Hit 'Transfer'.
  5. You will get a confirmation dialog. Click 'OK' to start the process.

If the attachments for the shared secret are huge in size, it can take a while to complete the process. Once the ownership of the secret is transferred to another user, he/she will have concurrent access to the password from then on.

Transferring Ownership

transfer ownership secrets

Acquiring Secrets

When someone leaves the organization on bad terms or under unexpected circumstances, transferring ownership may not be feasible. In such instances, the super-admin has privileges to forcefully acquire all 'Enterprise' level secrets owned by the user (personal secrets cannot be acquired). This feature can be used to acquire secrets from any user role (administrator/ super-admin/ user) and is exclusive only to the super-admin. There are three options in acquiring secrets:

(1) Acquiring all the enterprise secrets owned by a user

(2) Acquiring only a few selected secrets

In the above two options, the acquired secrets will be transferred to the super-admin who does the task.

(3) Acquiring secrets and transferring them to another user

To acquire all the secrets owned by a user  -

  1. Go to 'Admin' tab, click 'User management' panel.
  2. Under the 'Users' category, select the user you want to acquire the secrets from.
  3. Click the 'More Actions' button and select 'Acquire secrets' from the drop down.

All acquired secrets will be automatically added to the super-admin's account. Since all data has to be decrypted and encrypted again, the process can take a few minutes if the amount of data is large. Once acquired, the previous owner will forfeit all access to those secrets.

To acquire selected secrets owned by a user -

To tackle some emergency situation, you might want to acquire only a few secrets, not all secrets. Such instances can be handled as explained below:

 

  • Go to 'Admin' tab, click 'User management' panel.
  • Under the 'Users' category, select the user you want to acquire the secrets from.
  • Click the 'More Actions' button and select 'Selectively Acquire Secrets' from the drop down.

Acquiring Secrets

  • Select the secrets that you wish to acquire from the user and click the 'Acquire' button.
  • Click 'Ok' on the confirmation window.

Selected secrets will be automatically added to the super-admin's account. Since data has to be decrypted and encrypted again, the process will take few minutes if the amount of data is large. Once acquired, all those secrets will no longer be available to the previous owner.

To acquire secrets owned by a user & transfer it another user -

When a user moves to a different department and another user takes over the responsibilities, this option will come in handy. In a single step, super-admin can directly transfer the secrets owned by a particular user to another user.

  • Go to 'Admin' tab, click 'User management' panel.
  • Under the 'Users' category, select the user you want to acquire the secrets from.
  • Click the 'More Actions' button and select 'Acquire Secrets, Transfer Ownership' from the drop down.

 

  • Select the user to whom you wish to transfer the ownership using the drop down and click the 'Transfer' button.
  • Click 'Ok' on the confirmation window.

All secrets from the selected user's account will be automatically transferred to the another user's account. Since data has to be decrypted and encrypted again, the process will take few minutes if the amount of data is large. Once transferred, the previous owner will forfeit all access to the acquired secrets.