Customers

Customers are individuals or businesses who buy goods or services from you. You can add these customers to Zoho Expense and manage them. Also, you can bill customers when your employees incur expenses on their behalf.

Adding a New Customer

To add a new customer:

  • Navigate to Admin > Settings.
  • Go to the Customers tab and click on the + New Customer button.
  • Fill in the necessary details and click Save.

Customers

Note: If your Expense account is integrated with Zoho Books, all your newly added customer data will reflect in your Books account.

Editing a Customer

  • Go to Admin > Settings > Customers.
  • Hover over the customer you would like to edit.
  • Click the edit button and make the required changes.
  • Click Save.

Once this is done, your customer’s details will be updated.

Marking a Customer as Active or Inactive

In the course of running your business, certain customers may cease to do business with you. In that case, you can mark those customers as inactive and once you do that, you will not be able to associate those inactive customers with your expenses, reports, trips and advance payments. However, if those customers would like to continue business later, you can mark these customers as active again and associate them to your expense reports easily. To mark a customer as active or inactive:

  • Go to Admin > Settings > Customers.
  • Select a customer you would like to mark as inactive and click Disable on the top left corner of the page.
  • Once you mark the customers as inactive, you will not be able to associate them with the expenses, reports, trips and advance payments.
  • To view the inactive customers, select Inactive Customers from the All Customers dropdown on the top left of the page.
  • Similarly, to mark a customer as active again, select the customer and click Enable on the top left corner of the page.
  • To view the active customers, select Active Customers from the All Customers dropdown.
  • Also, you can mark the customers as active or inactive in bulk by selecting the customers in bulk and clicking Enable or Disable respectively.
Marking a Customer as Active or Inactive

Deleting a Customer

  • Go to Admin > Settings > Customers.
  • Hover over the customer you would like to delete.
  • Click the Trash icon and click Confirm to delete the customer.
  • To delete customers in bulk, select the customers in bulk and click the Trash icon.
  • Click Confirm to delete.
  • Once this is done, the customers will be deleted. You cannot retrieve deleted customers.

Note: However, you will not be able to delete customers who are already associated with the expenses, reports, trips and advance payments.

Deleting a Customer