Multiple Database Owners

Multiple Database Owners

In Zoho Reports the administrator can grant administrative privileges to a user on a reporting database through the role called Database Owner. If a user has been added as a database owner, then the owner inherits all the privileges on the reporting database as that of the Administrator, except for the permission to rename and delete the reporting database.

Please do note that this option is enabled only for the users from Standard Plan and above.

Add/Edit Database Owner

To add a user as an database owner, open the corresponding reporting database listing in the "My Home" page. Invoke Share -> Add/Edit Database Owner option in the toolbar of the Explorer tab. A dialog box appears as below.

In the Specify DB Owners tab, list the users whom you want to add as database owners. You need to provide the email addresses of the users (or Zoho Reports User ID) with which they have registered to Zoho Reports account.

You can add users using Add Users From option, which provides you with the options to pick users from the following contacts lists.

  • Existing Shared Users
  • Zoho Contacts
  • Google Contacts

Each of these options are explained in detail under Sharing Views to a User topic.

You can delete a user as a owner of the database by deleting his email address from the list under the Specify DB Owners tab.
Once you have included/edited the users, click on the Next button to go to the Send Invitation Mail tab. A dialog box appears as below.

In this tab you can send invitation mails to the new database owners, with a link to the corresponding reporting database. In the Subject box and Message box, you could type your own subject and message if you want to.

Additionally, by selecting the Removed Members option, user(s) removed as a database owner from this reporting database will also be notified. Click Add to complete the process.

Look for the message "Admin users have been successfully added. Notification email has also been sent to the users" at the top right corner of your screen, confirming the process.