Managing Users

Managing Users

Organization Model

Zoho Reports allows you to manage your account and collaborate with your colleagues and users with a segregated workspace called Organization. The administrator of the organization is allowed to control the permissions, add/delete the users in his organization and manage the subscription of his organization account.

Collaboration in Zoho Reports happens through sharing. When you share a report, the shared users will be able to access the report from your organization by logging into their account. Zoho Reports provides a role-based access control. Each role has a set of permissions that allows you to perform only specific tasks in Zoho Reports.

Each Organization account falls under a plan. You can check the plan of your Organization by clicking on the Settings link on the top right corner, once you log into Zoho Reports. Your account space (rows, users, databases, scheduled imports etc) depends on the plan that you have subscribed for. The number of users with whom you can share your reports and dashboards privately depends on your plan`s user limit

Click here to learn more about Managing Organizations.

Note

The administrator of my Organization has purchased a paid plan. But my account is still in a free plan. Why?

The subscription of an account is associated along with the organization. Therefore you will be able to enjoy the benefits of the paid plan as long as you are in the organization that has been shared to you by your administrator. If you have created a new Organization then the subscription of your Organization account will be applied to it. 

User Roles in Zoho Reports

Zoho Reports has a role-based access control. They are types of role are captured in the below table. 

 

Administrator is the person who owns the Zoho Reports account and has the authority to perform all possible operations available. This includes creating an Organization, reporting database, creating reports/dashboards, managing users, sharing reports, managing subscription etc.

There can be only one administrator for an account.

 

Database Owner is the person who is the owner of a specific reporting database(s) in a Zoho Reports Organization. Database owners can perform all the operations in a reporting database, except deleting or renaming the database.

The Administrator can only add a user as a database owner. Refer to the topic Multiple Database Owner to learn how to add a database owner to an account. Please do note that this option is available only for the users of the Standard plan and above.

 

User is a person who can access the Organization shared to him, by the Administrator or the Database Owner.

Users can access the shared information only by loging in to his/her account in Zoho Reports. Click to learn about "Sharing and Collaboration".

Managing Users Add, Delete, Activate and Deactivate Users

In Zoho Reports, the term user is applied to anyone who can access the Organization that you have created. The Administrator of the Organization can add, delete, activate or deactivate users in his/her account. 
In Zoho Reports, there are two basic types of users - Public and Private.

  • Public users are anonymous users (unauthenticated users) who can access a view in a Zoho Reports account without logging into Zoho Reports (with username & password). For example, users who access a report embedded (created in Zoho Reports) in a public website are classified as Public Users. These users are not included in the Zoho Reports user limit.
  • Private Users are users with whom you privately share your views. Private users are required to have a Zoho Reports account and they need to log in with their username and password to access the views shared to them in that corresponding Zoho Reports account.

Adding a User

An Administrator can add users to the Organization account. The administrator can add a person as a user by simply sharing a view privately to him/her. The email address that you enter while sharing gets added as a user in your account. A user with Database Owner role can also share the views to any user, thereby adding a user to the administrator`s account.

Alternatively, the Administrator can directly add users into his/her Organization from the Manage Users page by entering their email addresses.

To Add a user:

  • Login to your Zoho Report account.
  • Click Settings link at the top and then select Manage Users tab.
  • Now, click Add New Users option.
  • In Add New User dialog box that appears, you can add users by selecting them from your Zoho/Google Contacts or by typing them.

  • After specifying the users, click Add.

Note

  • By default, all the new users added to an account from the Manage Users page or by sharing a report will be set to Active state and will be counted into Zoho Reports account user limit. 
  • If you remove a user from sharing any views (reports) in your account, he/she will still be active in your account. Hence to remove a user from your account please delete/deactivate him/her from the Manage Users page.

Deleting a User

You can delete users who are no longer needed in your Organization, anytime you want. When you delete a user from your account, all privileges that you have assigned to that user will be completely removed.

But, if you want to retain the user account (i.e. the privileges granted to the user) while denying the user access for some time, consider deactivating the user account, which is discussed in the next section.

To delete a user:

  • Login to your Zoho Report account.
  • Click Settings link at the top and then select Manage users tab.
  • Select the users you wish to delete.
  • Click Delete User Button.

Deactivating a User

Zoho Reports allows you to temporarily deactivate a user, retaining the user information instead of completely deleting the user. By doing so, all the privileges that you have granted will become instantly unavailable to the user. These privileges can be reinstated at a later point, while reactivating his account.

Deactivate option might also be useful in the situation where you have reached the maximum user limit in your account and you want to add one or more users to your account as a replacement. In such cases, you can deactivate the unwanted users and add the required users to stay under your Zoho Reports account user limit as imposed by the pricing plan your account is in.

To deactivate a user:

  • Login to your Zoho Report account.
  • Click Settings link at the top and then select Manage Users tab.
  • Select the users you wish to deactivate.
  • Click Deactivate Users button at the top or click Active toggle button against the user to deactivate the user.

Reactivating a User

Users with whom you want to share the views in your Organization must be active before sharing. In case you have deactivated a user, you can use this option to activate them. On activating a user all the privileges that you had granted to him/her earlier will become instantly available.

To activate a user:

  • Login to your Zoho Reports account.
  • Click Settings link at the top and then select Manage Users tab.
  • Select the users you wish to activate.
  • Click Activate Users button or click Inactive button against the user to activate the user.

User Limit

Zoho Reports pricing model is structured based on the number of private users with whom you collaborate. Any user with whom you privately share your data (tables, reports, dashboards and reporting databases) from your account is considered as a User for your account. 

Zoho Reports has a user limit based on your subscription plan. You can check your plan by clicking on the Settings link on the top right corner, once you log into Zoho Reports. In Zoho Reports pricing model the administrator and the database owners are also considered as Users (refer to this section to know about adding a User).