Set Access Permissions

Overview

The Application Owner can grant three levels of access permissions to a public application or to shared users of a private application. Users will be able to Add, Edit or Delete records in a report only if access permission is provided by the app owner. To invite users to share your application, refer Sharing.

Set Access Permissions

To set the access permission,

  1. From the edit mode of the application, select a Report from the Reports tab.
  2. Click on Permissions section in the Report Settings dialog box.
  3. Check the boxes to set access permission to your users, as shown in the screenshot below.

Add Record

Creating a Report with the "Add Record" option selected, will allow shared users to add new records to the report. (i.e) the Add button will be displayed in the report to add new records.

Duplicate Record

If access is provided to add new records, the Duplicate Record option is also displayed. Selecting this option will enable shared users to duplicate a record that already exists in the application. The Duplicate button will be displayed in the report only if one or more records are selected.

Edit Record

Creating a report with the "Edit Record" option selected, will allow shared users to edit existing records in the report. (i.e) the Edit button will be displayed in the report. You can choose to allow users to edit all the fields in the form or only visible fields in the report.

Allow user to Edit all fields

This option will allow users to edit all the fields in the form, irrespective of whether they are shown or hidden in the report.

Allow users to Edit only visible fields

This option will allow users to edit only visible fields in the report. (i.e) The Edit Record form will display only those fields that are configured as "Shown" in the Column Properties option of the report. All "On User Input" scripts and "On edit -> On load" scripts will not be executed if this option is selected.

Bulk Edit Record

If access is provided to edit existing records, the Bulk Edit option is displayed. You can select this option to enable shared users to edit multiple records with same values. The Bulk Edit button will be displayed in the report only if one or more records are selected. You can choose to allow users to bulk edit all the fields in the form or only visible fields in the report.

Delete Record

Creating a view with the "Delete Record" option selected, will allow shared users to delete existing records in the report. (i.e) the Delete button will be enabled to the shared users. The Delete button will be displayed in the report only if one or more records are selected.

Screen-shot of a report with all the access permissions

Note:

  • Zoho Creator automatically tracks details about when and by whom a record is added or modified. Refer the topic Display username and time for more information.