Manage connections

Manage Connections

To add a user connection

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Click the Create New button.
  3. Select the Service for which you want to create a connection.
  4. Perform the following actions in the popup:
    • Provide a Connection Name. This will be the display name for your connection.

      Note: The display name can contain:

      • up to 50 characters
      • alphabets and numbers
      • the following special characters: & @ ! : - _ \ | /~ * 
      • spaces
    • In the Authorization Credentials dropdown, Select Admin or User.
      • If Admin is chosen, the connection can only be authorized with the Admin users' credentials. 
      • If User is chosen, the connection that you create can be authorized by the end login users with their own authorization credentials.
    • Services that are based on OAuth authentication require you to choose the target service's modules that the connection can have access to. Under Use this connection to enable access to:
      •  Select All Actions if you want to allow the connection to perform all the supported actions on the service.
      •  Select Only Specific Actions if you want to select from the available list of actions.
        Note: The modules and their availability vary depending upon the service that you pick. You can find the applicable modules in the desired service's API documentation.
  5. Click the Create button. The connection will be created and listed on the Connections page.

To Authorize the connection

  1. Once the connection is created, a popup to authorize the connection will be displayed. 
  2. For an already saved account, you can select from the Authorized Account dropdown to reuse.
  3. To authorize the connection with a different account, click the Link New Account button.
  4. In the popup:
    • Provide the Name of the Authorized Account to uniquely identify which account credentials were used to authorize this connection.
    • Provide the authorization credentials of the account you want to connect to.

      Note:

      • The applicable fields will be displayed for Basic/Authtoken/API key type connection.
      • For OAuth type connection, the authorization will be done in the succeeding steps.
    • Select the environments that can use this connection.

      Note:

      • This option will only be visible to the accounts that have enabled Environments.
      • By default, the Production environment will be selected. In other words, all the connections that are created and connected will work in the Production environment. 
      • To allow the use of this connection in Development or Staging besides the Production environment, choose the required environments.
      • The same connection can work with different authorization credentials for different environments (Production, Staging, and Development).
  5. Click Authorize.
  6. If the service is based on Basic/Authtoken/API key type authentication, the connection will be authorized and the connection information can be viewed on the connection summary page. 
  7. If the service is based on OAuth type authentication, you will need to log in to your account and grant access to the selected modules in the successive steps.

Connection Summary Page

To view details of a connection:

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Click on the required connection card
  3. The Connection Details page will display the following details:
    • The display name provided by the user for the connection.
    • Link Name: A unique name generated for the connection in the backend. This can be used in Deluge integration tasks and invoke URL scripts to establish authorization.
    • List of applications that consumes the connection.
    • Authorization Credentials type chosen by the user while creating the connection
    • Permission: The modules that were selected by the user while creating the connection.
    • Authorized Account: The display name of the connected account if the connection is authorized. 

      Note:

      • For unconnected connections, Not connected tag will be displayed.
      • For the accounts that have enabled Environments, the authorized account names in all three environments will be listed.
    • Connection access: The list of applications that use the connection. You can click the references link to find the accurate places where the connection is used in the application.
    • Others: Information such as Created by, Created on, Last modified by, and Last modified on

To edit a connection

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Hover over the connection that you want to edit. 
  3. Click the horizontal ellipsis (three dots) icon at the top-right corner of the card, then click Edit.
  4. Provide the information you want to update, then click the Authorize button.

Alternatively, to edit a connection:

  1. Click on the connection card you want to edit.
  2. In the connection summary page, click the Edit connection button at the top-right corner. 
     
    Note: All the fields except Authorization credentials are editable.

To delete a connection

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Hover over the connection that you want to delete. 
  3. Click the horizontal ellipsis (three dots) icon at the top-right corner of the card, then click Delete.
    • If the connection is not used in any of your applications, it will be immediately deleted once you click Yes in the confirmation popup that appears. 
    • Otherwise, a popup with details of all the places where you have used the connection will be displayed. You need to delete all the mentioned usage in order to Proceed to Delete the connection.

Alternatively, to delete a connection:

  1. Click on the connection card you want to delete.
  2. In the Connection Details page, click on the Delete icon placed near the connection display name at the top left corner.
Note: The connection status can be viewed at the bottom-right corner of the connection card. The red plug icon indicates the connection is not authorized and the green plug icon indicates the connection is authorized.

To re-authorize a connection

 You can authorize an unauthorized connection or authorize a connection with different credentials using the below steps:

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Hover over the connection that you want to Authorize or Reauthorize. 
  3. Click the horizontal ellipsis (three-dots) icon at the top right corner of the card, then click Authorize/ Re-Authorize.
  4. Choose from the Authorized Account dropdown to reuse an already saved account and click the Yes, Proceed button on the warning box that appears. 
  5. To authorize the connection with different account credentials, click the Link New Account button.
  6. Provide the authorization details in the popup and click Authorize.
    Note: When a connection is re-authenticated, all the applications that utilize it will henceforth use the new authorization.

Alternatively, to authenticate or re-authenticate a connection:

  1. Click on the connection card you want to authenticate or re-authenticate.
  2. In the connection summary page, click the Authorize/Re-Authorize button. 

To edit the display name of a connection

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Click on the connection card you want to rename.
  3. In the Connection Details page, click on the Rename icon placed near the connection display name at the top-left corner.

To enable or disable connection access for an application

  1. Navigate to Microservices. The connections will be listed under the Connections section. 
  2. Click on the required connection card.
  3. In the Connection Details page, the list of all applications available in the account will be under Connection Access. Click the References hyperlink next to the applications that use that connection to check accurate places where the connection is used in the application.
  4. To allow or revoke permission for an app to use the connection, click the On/Off toggle button adjacent to the required app.
  5. If the application uses any Datasources that use this connection, the Datasources have to be disabled first in order to disable the connection.

Note:

  • Disabling a connection affects the current execution of the integrations that use this connection.
  •  Connections that are used in data sources cannot be disabled until the related data sources are disabled. 

Related Topics

Share this post : FacebookTwitter

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Write to us: support@zohocreator.com