Getting Started Guide

Permission Sets in Zoho BugTracker

Zoho BugTracker offers better control over the access levels a user has in the portal. Profile permissions have been divided into three sections. Portal Level, Project Level, and Module Level.

Each permission in these sections lets users handle host of activites and/or features inside the portal. Here is a breakdown on what you can and cannot do when the permissions are enabled.

Portal Level Permissions

Portal level permissions are available only for project users. Client profile users will not have portal level permissions.

Portal SectionAction PermittedAdditional Action Permitted
Global ReportsUsers can view Milestone Gantt, Resource Utilization Chart, and Project Timeline Gantt from Global reports section.-
Users & ClientsManage portal and client users. New Portal Users permission will also be enabled. Disabling New Portal Users permission will disable Users & Clients permission.View, add, edit and delete portal and client users (except Admins), follow users in the portal. Import users from Zoho CRM, Zoho Mail Suite, MS Projects, and Google Apps.

Managers can view project filters when this permission is enabled. For other users, enable project level Associate Users / Clients permission.

New Portal UsersAdd new portal users from the Users section inside a project.Without Users & Clients permission, the user will only be able to add new users to the portal from inside the project. User will not have access to Manage User section in the Settings page.
Profiles & RolesUsers can view, add, edit, and delete Profiles and Roles.-
New ProjectUsers can create new projects.Import MPP files (Project and Settings page), Project ICS, view Project Timeline Gantt, Export Project

Note:

  • Only Portal Owners can add Admins to the portal.
  • Portal level permissions can be granted only to user profiles.

Project Level Permissions

Project permissions can be given to user profile and client profile users. Client profile users can be given access to forums, pages, and events only.

Project SectionAction PermittedAdditional Action Permitted
ForumsUsers can view, add, and edit forums. Delete own forums. Users can also comment on forum posts-
ChatUsers can view, create, and edit chats-
PagesUsers can view, create, and edit pages. Delete own pages. Users can also comment on pages-
EventsUsers can view, add, and edit events. Delete own events. Users can also comment on events-
Project Settings & Bug TrackerUsers can edit Project Settings and Bug Tracker settings.Archive projects, edit project, email alias, and forum category. Bug tracker business rules, SLAs, notifications, fields, client permissions, email settings, email templates, link bugs, webhooks, and custom functions.
Associate Users / ClientsAdd existing portal or client users to projects.Dissociate users/clients, follow other users in the project, export project users, view profile permissions, customize user permissions inside a project (except for admins and project owner). This permission along with Users & Clients will let user access project filters in the projects list view.

Note:

  • Project owners will have all permissions inside the project irrespective of their profile.
  • You can give access to only external forums, pages, and events for client profile users.

Module Permissions

This section lets you set permissions at a granular level. These can be applied to both user and client profiles. Timesheets will not be available to client profile users.

Milestones

PermissionAction PermittedAdditional Actions Permitted
ViewUsers can view all milestones in the project.User can follow and add comments to milestones.
AddUsers can add milestones to the project.-
EditOwned: Users can edit milestones owned by them.-
All: Users can edit all the milestones in the project.Reorder and move milestones.
None: Users cannot edit milestones in the project.-
DeleteOwned: Users can delete milestones owned by them.-
All: Users can delete all the milestones in the project.
None: Users cannot delete milestones in the project.

Bugs

PermissionAction PermittedAdditional Actions Permitted
ViewAll: View all bugs in the project.Export bugs, create bugs custom view, use notification helper, add and view comments to bugs, follow bugs, view attachments, view changesets, view linked bugs, and bug reports.
Related: The users can only view the bugs that are created by them, assigned to them, wherever they are @ mentioned or selected in a picklist field.Export bugs, create bug custom view, use notification helper, add and view comments to bugs, follow bugs, view attachments, view changesets, view linked bugs.
None: Users cannot view any bugs in the project.-
AddAdd bugs to the project.Import and clone bugs.
EditOwned: Users can edit bugs assigned to them and other unassigned bugs.Update bugs in bulk and update bugs by user pick list.
Added: Users can edit bugs added by them and other unassigned bugs.Update bugs in bulk and move bugs.
Both: Users can edit bugs added and owned by them. Users can also edit all unassigned bugs.Update bugs in bulk, update bugs by user pick list, and move bugs.
All: Users can edit all bugs in the project.Flag bugs as internal or external, move bugs, edit bug title and description, filter My bugs by assignee, update bugs by user pick list, create custom views with accessibility permissions, link bugs.
None: Users cannot edit bugs in the project.-
DeleteOwned: Users can delete bugs assigned to them in the project.-
Added: Users can delete bugs reported by them in the project.
Both: Users can delete bugs assigned to them and reported by them in the project.
All: Users can delete all bugs in the project.
None: Users cannot delete bugs in the project.
Add FollowersUsers can add followers to all bugs in the project.-

Timesheet

Timesheet is accessible only to Project Users. Client Users will not be able to view timesheets.

PermissionAction PermittedAdditional Actions Permitted
ViewOwned: Users can view their own time logs.Bugs detail page log hours tab. 
All: Users can view all time logs in the project.View Timesheet Reports.
None: Users cannot view any time logs in the project.-
EditOwned: Edit own time logs in the project.-
All: Edit time logs of all users in the project.Filter My Timesheet by assignee, access client and project reports.
None: Cannot edit time logs-
DeleteOwned: Delete own time logs in the project.-
All: Delete all time logs in the project.
None: Cannot delete any time logs in the project.
Approve Timesheet (except client users)Users can approve time logs.-
Finance (except client users)Users can invoice time logs.-

Documents

PermissionAction PermittedAdditional Actions Permitted
ViewUsers can view documents in the projects.-
AddUsers can add documents in the projects.-
EditUsers can edit documents in the projects.-
DeleteUsers can delete documents in the projects.-
Manage FoldersUsers can create and upload folders.Dropbox sync, trash folders.

 Related Topics

Profiles | Roles | Portal Owner and Admin Permissions | Manage Users

Share this post : FacebookTwitter

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Write to us: support@zohobugtracker.com