Preferences

Preferences

Preferences feature allows you to choose the type of technician console, disable clipboard sharing, enable inactive session timeout, lock the remote computer at the end of every remote support session and customize the notifications to be shown to your customer. Also, it also helps you to improve the performance of the remote computer by allowing you to disable wallpaper, disable aero theme and hide window contents on drag. 

preferences

Technician Console

You can use Technician Console to choose the type of technician console. 

  1. Go to SettingsGeneralPreferencesTechnician Console.
  2. You can choose the type of Technician Console by choosing either ActiveX (Native Application) or HTML5 (Browser-based Application). Click here to know more about Technician Console.

Remote Support

With the Remote Support settings you can enable a few options that would help you during a remote support session.

To uninstall customer application at the end of the session:

Click on the checkbox beside Uninstall customer application after session ends to uninstall the customer application on the remote computer at the end of every session.

Note:This feature works only for Windows.

To show remote cursor during a remote support session:

Click on the checkbox beside Show remote cursor to make the remote cursor visible during a remote support session.

To get alerts on technician management:

Click on the checkbox beside Notify me on technician management alerts to get notifications for activities pertaining to technician management like addition and removal of technicians, sanctioning technicians permissions to conduct remote support or unattended access sessions.

To get a desktop notification when a customer joins a session:

Click on the checkbox beside Show a desktop notification when a customer joins a session to get a desktop notification as and when a customer joins the session.

Advance Security

Advance Security settings allow you to disable clipboard sharing, enable inactive session timeout and set the action to be carried out on exceeding the inactive session timeout. In addition, it also gives you access to lock the remote computer at the end of every remote support session.

To disable clipboard sharing:

You can use Disable Clipboard Sharing to deny permissions for the technician or the customer to copy and paste from each other's computer. 

  1. Click on the check box given beside Disable Clipboard Sharing.
  2. Choose From Customer's Computer to disable clipboard sharing from the customer's computer.
  3. Choose To Customer's Computer to disable clipboard sharing to the customer's computer.
  4. You can choose the option Both to disable clipboard sharing for both.

To enable inactive session timeout:

You can use Enable Inactive Session timeout to terminate a session if the customer's computer is left idle beyond the specified time limit.

  1. Click on the check box given beside Enable Inactive Session Timeout.
  2. Fill the time in minutes for the inactive session timeout in the space given beside Timeout.
  3. Choose Terminate Session to terminate the session on exceeding the inactive session timeout limit.
  4. Choose Terminate Session and Lock the remote computer to terminate the session and to lock the remote computer on exceeding the inactive session timeout limit.

To lock the remote computer at the end of every remote support session:

Click on the checkbox Lock the remote computer at the end of every remote support session to lock the remote computer at the end of every remote support session.

Note: This feature works only for Windows.

Performance

Use Performance to reduce data consumption and to improve the performance of the remote computer during a support session by disabling wallpaper, disabling aero theme and hiding window contents on drag. 

  1. Click on the checkbox given beside Disable wallpaper on the remote computer screen during a support session to disable wallpaper on the remote computer during a support session.
  2. Click on the check box given beside Disable aero theme on the remote computer screen during support session to disable aero theme on the remote computer during a support session.
  3. Click on the check box given beside Hide window contents on drag to hide window contents on drag during a support session.

Note: Performance feature is available only on Windows.

Confirmation Prompt

By default, a prompt will be shown to your customers asking them for their consent to initiate any action(e.g., File Transfer, Screenshot, etc.). You can enable/disable the Confirmation Prompt or customize the prompt, if needed.

Share this post : FacebookTwitter

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Write to us: support@zohoassist.com