Zoho Docs allows you to share files with individuals or a group and collaborate in real-time. You can either share individual files or organize all your files into folders and share it with your team or with external partners, clients and customers. Shared folders are ideal for people who work on the same files together. When you create a new shared folder and add people to it, the files in the shared folder will appear in their Zoho Docs just as they do in yours. Any user who is part of the shared folder can add, delete or edit the content within that folder, based on the access privileges.
With Zoho Docs, files and folders can be shared easily with any individuals within or outside the organization by just entering their email IDs.
The recepients of the shared folder or file will receive an email notification with a link to the folder/file. Users can then access the shared folder or file either by clicking on the link in the notification email or from the feed notification in their Zoho Docs home page. Shared folders will be listed under 'Shared With Me' on the left panel of Zoho Docs home page.
Visibility Settings helps you to control how your files are being accessed. Files can be shared quickly as links to a larger audience or can be shared with collaborators, where two or more people can work on the same file together.
Collaborators Only Files are accessible only to those who are explicitly granted permission.
Everyone in Organization Files can be accessed by anyone in the organization with whom the link is shared.
Public on the web with password-protect Files are accessible to anyone (including non-Zoho users) who has the perma-link and the password set by the owner.
Public on the web Files can be accessed by anyone (including non-zoho users) with the link.
To ensure that your document is safe and can be accessed only by certain users with whom you have shared, Zoho Docs provides a password-protect option.
Shared members will get to access the files only with the password. You can also set expiry date for a shared folder or file to ensure it is not accessible after the specified time.
Shared folders are ideal for a group of people who work on the same files together. In Zoho Docs, you can share files and folders with groups.
The folder or file will be shared with the group of users who will be notified through an e-mail and on their Zoho Docs home page as a feed. Users can then access the shared folder or file either by clicking on the link in the notification email or from the feed notification in their Zoho Docs home page. Members of the group can also view the folder or file from Search>Groups option.
Zoho Docs allows you to publish folders or individual files (Documents, Spreadsheets and Presentations) within your organization or to the external world. Once published, you get a URL that can be shared with anyone you choose.
Your published folder will be accessible from this URL until you delete the folder or Remove Public. To remove the published folder, open the folder details once again i.e More>Properties>Folder Details. From Make Public dialog box, click Remove Public. Anyone clicking the link to the published folder can no longer access the file.
You can copy, move and rename folder or file just as you can with any file on your hard drive.
You can copy the files or a folder shared with you to your personal folder. Any changes made to the content of the shared folder will not reflect in your personal folder. The files copied will still be available in all shared users' account and will not get removed from the Shared with Me list of the shared users.
You can also copy folders or files from your personal folder into the shared folder using the same steps mentioned above.
Moving a folder or a file into a personal folder is a move and not copy (i.e once you move the folder or file, it will be available only in the new destination). Folders, sub-folders and files moved will no longer be available to shared users and they will not be able to access those folders or files
Only the actual owner can move the parent folder to a new destination folder. Shared users can move sub-folders based on the user access permission. Users will be notified when the file, folder or sub-folder is moved by owner or any shared user.
The shared user who moved the folder/file will be the new owner. The other shared users of those folder and file will no longer have access to it. All these changes will be notified to the users on their Zoho Docs home page as feed notifications.
If you are the owner of the folder or file you can rename folder just as you would do with any folder on your hard drive. Even if you rename it, the folder or file will remain shared. The rename changes will be notified to all shared users.
Alternatively, select Rename from the right-click menu.
Specify a name for the folder or file in text box. The changes will be reflected automatically to all the shared users.
Once folder or file name is changed, all the users will receive feed notification in their Zoho Docs home page.
Shared members of a folder can add new folders / files to the parent folder. Sub-folders or files created by the shared user will be listed automatically in the parent folder and will inherit the same privileges as the parent folder.
Any document or folder you create or upload using this way will instantly be part of the selected folder and will be automatically shared with every user of that folder.
If you are the owner of the folder or file, you can remove share at any time. When you remove share, folder or file will be removed from the shared user's account automatically. They will no longer have access to it. However, the folder will be available in the personal folders if the shared user has copied or moved the folder.
Shared users will be notified through feed notifications in their Zoho Docs home page.
At any point of time you can opt-out from the share. But remember, you cannot rejoin the folder or file once you remove share. You have to contact the owner to access it once again.
Folder or file will be removed from Shared with Me list.
Shared details of a folder or file can be viewed anytime and at ease.
You can remove unwanted and outdated folders, sub-folders or files from your Zoho Docs. Anything that you own and remove from Zoho Docs will be in the trash until you permanently delete or restore them.
You can remove unwanted and outdated folders with just a click away.
Users will receive feed notification in their Zoho Docs home page once the folder is removed.
Users will receive feed notification in their Zoho Docs home page once the folder or file is deleted permanently.
The folder or file will be restored to it's original location.