CRM Help

Creating Groups

Create Groups

You can create different types of user groups and share the common records among groups.

To create groups

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Groups.
  2. In the Groups page, click Create Group.
  3. In the New Group page, do the following:
    • In the Group Details section, specify the Group Name and Description for the group.
    • In the Group Source section, select the group members. You can select users, roles, roles & subordinates, and different groups as members of the new group.
  4. Click Save.

Assign Users to Group

After creating a new group, you can associate members with the group. As mentioned above, group members can be users, roles, roles & subordinates or other groups. After assigning group members you can share the CRM data among users by applying data sharing rules.

Note

  • You can assign users to multiple groups and they can access data as per the permissions in the profile and sharing rules.

To associate users to a group

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Groups.
  2. In the Groups page, select the group to which you want to assign users.
  3. In the Group Details page, click Edit.
  4. Under Group Sources, select the users.
    You can select users, roles, roles & subordinates, and different groups as members of the new group.
  5. Click Save.

Edit Groups

After creating groups, you can update the group name and group members as your requirements grow.

To edit groups

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Groups.
  2. In the Groups List page, you can see the list of Groups you have added.
  3. In the Public Groups List page, click on Edit.
  4. In the Edit Group page, do the following:
    • In the Group Details section, specify the group name and comments for the group in Group Name and Description fields respectively.
    • In the Group Source section, select the group members.
      You can change the users, roles, roles & subordinates, and different groups as members of the new group.
  5. Click Save.

Delete Groups

Periodically you may consider cleaning up the unwanted groups using the delete function. While deleting, all the data sharing rules will be calculated automatically, updating the changes, so you won't need to recalculate them.

To delete Groups

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Groups.
  2. In the Groups page, the list of group names will be available.
  3. Click the Del link to remove any Group from this list.

Share Records with Groups

In Zoho CRM, records are always owned by the user. However, access rights to the records can be extended to other users by grouping a set of users and setting up sharing rules for each module. After setting up the sharing rules, group members can access records in CRM modules as per their permission in their profile.

For example, if "User A" doesn't have access to the Potentials module, he/she cannot access the Potentials by setting up data sharing with groups.

  • The owner has all rights on the records
  • Records cannot be owned by groups. However, records can be shared with other users by groups and setting up data sharing rules
  • A User must have profile-level permission to access the records
  • To apply the record sharing, you must recalculate after setting up the sharing rules

To share data with groups

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Data sharing Rules.
  2. In the Data Sharing Rules page, setup sharing rules for each module. See Also Data sharing Rules
  3. Click Save.

Top