CRM Help

Activating and Deactivating Users

Activate/Deactivate Users

Sometimes in your organization, the users' hierarchical status may change or they may move to different business units. In such cases, you might have to deactivate those users after transferring ownership of the records to other users. Note that deactivating a user is different from deleting a user. When you deactivate a user:

  • The user will no longer be able to access the CRM account.
  • No one will be able to log into the service using the deactivated ID.
  • You are free to use the same user license to add another user. 
  • The user license is not canceled. You will be billed for the number of user licenses that you had bought.
  • The user will be listed under Deactivated Users.
  • If you decide to activate the user again, you can re-invite the deactivated user.

To deactivate a user

  1. Log in to the Zoho CRM with Administrator privileges.
  2. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Users.
  3. In the Users page, select the Active Users view. Point your mouse to the user you wish to deactivate and click the Settings icon. Click Deactivate.
    The user will be deactivated and a system generated email will be sent to the corresponding user.

To activate a user

  1. Log in to the Zoho CRM with Administrator privileges.
  2. Click Setup Users & Permissions > Users.
  3. In the Users page, select the Inactive Users view.
  4. Move your mouse pointer to the user that you want to activate and click the Settings icon. Click Activate.
    The user will be activated and a system generated email will be sent to the corresponding user.

Note

  • Only active users are counted towards user licenses.

Delete Users

When a member of your organization quits or is replaced you may have to delete the member from you CRM account. Note that deleting a user from Zoho CRM is not the same as closing their Zoho account. They are deleted only from Zoho CRM.

When you delete a user

  1. You cannot undo the action. If you don't want the member to access CRM but you are not sure about deleting the user, you can deactivate them.
  2. The records that belong to the deleted user remain in Zoho CRM. You can transfer them to another member at any time. It is recommended that you transfer the records before you delete a user. See also: How to mass transfer records.
  3. You cannot reinvite a deleted user. If you extend an invitation to a user you have deleted, the user will be added again in Zoho CRM as any other new user.
  4. Only the Super Admin of your account can delete a user.
  5. A user deleted from Zoho CRM will still be able to access other Zoho services without hassles with the same email address.
  6. All the integrations configured by the deleted user will be lost after you delete them.
  7. Deleting a user does not cancel the user's license. To cancel license you must manage your subscriptions.

To delete a user

  1. Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Users
  2. Point your mouse to the user and click the Settings icon.
  3. Click Delete.
    Read the consequences of deleting a user and confirm the action. The user will be deleted from Zoho CRM and will appear under the Deleted Users view.

Activate Add-ons and Plug-ins (Old Pricing only)

Users who have subscribed to the Zoho CRM Editions with old pricing, need to purchase the add-ons and plug-in licenses for features like Zoho Mail Add-on, Zoho CRM Plug-in for MS Outlook, etc.

Once you have purchased the add-ons or plug-ins, you need to activate them for the individual users. Only after activation, will the add-ons or plug-ins be available for the users.

Note

  • In the New Editions, the option to enable or disable these integrations are provided in Profiles, under Apps Permissions. The Administrator can enable an integration or disable it for all the users in a particular profile.
  1. Click Setup > Subscription Manager > Activate Users.
  2. In the Activate Users page, click Edit.
  3. Select the check boxes of the respective add-ons and plug-ins for the corresponding user.
  4. Click Save.

Delete Zoho Account (Close Accounts)

You can also close your Zoho account, if you do not want to use any of the Zoho services.

To close your Zoho account permanently

  1. Log in to https://accounts.zoho.com.
  2. Select the Close Account option.

Important Note:

  • On closing your account, you will not be able to access our Zoho Services.
  • Before closing, please ensure that you have exported all your data from the Zoho CRM system and also from the other Zoho services.
  • Once you close your account, all of your data within Zoho services will be deleted immediately and cannot be restored in future.

Reset Password

Users with any role can reset their password individually by clicking on the Forgot Password link in the login page.

To reset the password

  1. Click the Forgot Password link in the Log in page of Zoho CRM, the system redirects you to Zoho Accounts page.
  2. In Zoho Accounts page:
    • Email ID: Specify the registered Email ID as mentioned in Account information.
    • Image Text: Enter the code as seen in the given picture.
  3. Click Request.
    The system sends an automated email to your Email ID.
  4. Click the given link 'here' in the email, you will be redirected to Zoho Accounts Password Reset page.
  5. In Password reset page, enter your New Password.
  6. Click Change.
    The new password is updated and you can use it to log in to all Zoho services.

FAQ

1. Why am I not able to add a new user?

2. How to change the profile of the user?

3. What happens when I deactivate a user?

Top